Tags

Reader Problems Tag

Hello guys! Today I’m back with another post – and this one is a book tag! I absolutely love book tags, and I really love this one because the answers are subjective and they’re non-bookish answers. I hope you enjoy this post :) Let’s get to the questions!


1. You have 20,000 books in your TBR, how in the world do you decide what to read next?

This is every single booklover’s biggest problem. The never-ending TBR. It’s come to a point where I want to start all the books together and read them all together (damn I wish had that many eyes). It’s just so messed up that even when I pick up a book that I am really interested in, I still think about how I want to read some other book :/ Also, I completely read books based on my mood, and that is exactly how I decide which book to pick up!

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you put it down or are you committed?

Put it down. The biggest thing which will make me put a book down is boredom. If a book is boring and I’m not loving it, I put it down because there’s no point. However, if a book is bad  or problematic or offensive to me, I can still keep reading it but boring books? Nope.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re behind on your reading challenge, do you try to catch up? And if so, how?

Okay till date, this has never happened. I usually aim appropriately, depending on the year I have ahead of me (for example, last year I had aimed low because I knew I wouldn’t have a lot of reading time because of studies). Also, I think if, by chance, I’m not about to finish my reading goal, I anticipate it months ahead and just change it to a lower number :P

4. The covers of a series you love do not match, how do you cope?

I don’t fucking care. No offense, but in India, where mainstream, popular books everyone is talking about are hardly available, and even when they are, it’s usually months late or way too expensive, I cannot really afford to think about matching covers. For me, honestly, even having so many books is a luxury and on top of that, if you can buy multiple books just for the covers and editions, you’re SO lucky. 

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book that you do not. Who do you bond with over your shared feelings?

Again, I don’t care :P If I hate a popular book, that’s just my feelings so I don’t see why anyone else should really care so much! There are lots of books I love which I’ve heard other people hate, and that’s okay I don’t mind! As for bonding with someone for my feelings, I just write about the book on my blog :)

6. You’re reading a book in public and you’re about to start crying. How do you deal?

Firstly, there are very few books which have made me cry completely. Most emotional books just make me feel heavy and emotionally drained but actual tears? VERY few books. Also, I hardly read in public. But if, by chance, such a situation were to arise, I’d probably try to constrain my tears as much as possible and if they still flow, well there’s not really much anyone can do about that!

7. The sequel to a book you loved just came out but you’ve forgotten a lot of what happens. Are you going to reread it?

This is a tough question because though I would love to reread a book before its sequel came out, too many books and too little time makes it impossible. So no, I just google the synopsis of the previos book or read a spoilery Goodreads review.

8. You do not want anyone to borrow your books, how do you politely say no when someone asks?

For me, it is much easier to say no to strangers or people I don’t know well than to friends and family. With strangers, I don’t have to worry about pleasing them or their feelings so I can safely say no and honestly, I don’t really care even if I come off a little crazy to them. As for them, most of them don’t read and also, they know how possessive I am about my books (so they don’t ask me for them). The real deal is family friends. They’re not close enough to understand me, but they’re the ones whose feelings I have to consider :/ So I can never say no to them :(

9. You have picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over this reading slump?

Take some time off reading. I think the word ‘slump’ is used so loosely nowadays (I’m planning to do a discussion on this soon!) and it really sucks. As long as you are reading, you’re not in a slump. If you’re picking up 5 books, that’s okay and it’s not a ‘slump’. Sometimes we all go through phases where we read less or are not into anything but that’s okay! Even if you’ve only read one book in a month, I still don’t consider it a slump (it’s such a negative word). When I’m in the situation where I can’t find anything I like, I just take some time off.

10. There are so many books coming out that you are dying to read, how many do you end up buying?

I don’t buy that many books. New releases (mainstream ones) usually release late in India (or don’t release at all) and even when they do, mostly they’re too costly. I usually just get them for my kindle, but physical copies? I can hardly afford to buy too many.

11. After you purchase all of these books that you’re dying to read how long do they sit on your shelves before you get to them?

A very long time. I suck at buying books and reading them immediately. I have a couple of friends who buy books and immediately read them and on finishing them, buy a new one, and that system appeals to me so much. So mainly for that reason, I have completely reduced buying books this year.


So that was it for my tag! I hope you liked this post :)

Do you have any such reader problems? Share them below!

4 thoughts on “Reader Problems Tag

  1. I stopped caring about matching book covers a long, long time ago. It’s so difficult to get everything to match and often more expensive if you want to do it that way. I have embraced the eclectic look. 😛

    Like

  2. I love your answers for 4 and 5 😂 I buy books for it’s contents so I don’t care if they look the same. I also don’t care if a series matches in format (as in all paperback or all hardcover). If I got into a series late I buy the paperbacks because they’re cheaper. But when the new book comes out I sometimes can’t wait the year or more it takes for Canada to release the paperback. Though hardcovers are sometimes incredibly expensive so I HAVE to wait. And popularity doesn’t dictate if I pick up a book. If it sounds interesting I’ll read it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

