Book Reviews

Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer #1) – Laini Taylor (Book Review)

28449207

Title : Strange the Dreamer

Series : Strange the Dreamer #1

Author : Laini Taylor

Genre : YA Fantasy


Summary

Goodreads summary :

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? And if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

Welcome to Weep.


Non-Spoilery Thoughts

Oh my. 

Where do I begin, with this book? Welcome to the review of my first 5-star book of the year!

loved this book, enjoyed it a LOT but believe you me – had I not been going crazy about starting ACOWAR after finishing this book – it’s possible, just possible that I might have enjoyed it even more.

‘Good people do all the things bad people do, Lazlo. It’s just that when they do them, they call it justice.’

What is the aftermath of war? Which side wins, and which side loses? The real question, though, is : is there really a winner in war? Laini Taylor’s Strange the Dreamer weaves an exhilerating story raising some very interesting questions, dipped in lyrical prose and an absolutely stunning world.

Taylor’s writing is genuinely beautiful. I haven’t read her original trilogy The Daughter of Smoke and Bone and this is her first book I’m reading. I had heard a lot about her writing before picking this up, but to actually read it in real and experience her written words is another experience. It’s a beautifully written novel and really puts you in the mood for reading the book.

The story and world-building was exceptionally done. I absolutely loved the world, the whole concept of gods, Mesarthium, godspawn having magical powers, and the city of Weep. The elements of the story were so unique and interesting, and help my attention in spite of info-dumping. Tbh, I don’t mind books with info-dumping, and this book presented everything in a very alluring way.

loved the characters. Lazlo was such a strong, dreamy character. He had so many questions and was always searching for more information and never strayed away from his beliefs. As for the other main character, I’d rather that remain a secret and you find out about it whenever you pick this up (since even the synopsis doesn’t mention her).

I loved how important themes of war are discussed in this book – from how devastating and horrifying it is, to how it scars people on both sides. It shows how there isn’t really a winner in war, and it affects everyone. The romance wasn’t overwhelming and it fit into the story perfectly.

Overall, I absolutely loved the book. I highly recommend you pick this book up, especially if you’re a fantasy lover. This was glorious.

My Rating

5/5 stars

 

11 thoughts on “Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer #1) – Laini Taylor (Book Review)

  1. I’m struggling to get into this, I think because I’m interested in reading so many other things – like I just finished Looking for Group and just picked up Exit West from the library. Maybe I’ll put it down for a while and come back to it (I own the audiobook) when I’m feeling it.

    Like

    1. That’s exactly what happened to me. I loved the first 3/4 of the book but then ACOWAR came out and I had to struggle to get through Strange the Dreamer (because I wanted to read ACOWAR). Then I started ACOWAR, didn’t find it too good and finally comepleted Strange the Dreamer peacefully.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

