Wrap Ups

Reading Wrap Up 2017 – Books #(21-30)

I’m back with a wrap-up! I took way too much time to read these books but nevertheless, here are the latest ten books that I read :

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger :  This book was a DNF. I’m 17 (I’ll be 18 soon) and the MC in the book is 16 and I had heard so many times that this book is extremely relatable. However, I didn’t find it even a tad bit relatable. Like, ughh. The MC kept complaining about every single thing and that is not what teenage life is about. Nothing happaened, and I had to finally give up a few pages short of the end. I still do plan on reading it as an adult, only to see whether I perceive it differently.

The Most Dangerous Place on Earth by Lindsey Lee Johnson : This is an adult literary fiction novel which traces the lives of several adoloscents who are bound by a tragedy which had occurred in their childhood. This book was interesting – but nothing too special or everlasting.

Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates : This is a book I didn’t finish – not because I wasn’t enjoying it – but because it’s a diffcult book. It’s serious and gritty and so informative. It’s a book you have to take in in bits and pieces – not all at once. I highly recommend this book, even though it’s a difficult read and will definitely make you uncomfortable at places.

Love and Misadventure by Lang Leav : This was such a disappointment. Having heard such amazing things about Lang Leav, I went into this poetry collection expecting to read something beautiful and hearttouching. Instead, I ended up reading childish poetry which basically rhymed everything and hardly expressed anything. Probably one or two things made an impact, everything else was just bland.

Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough : This was a shocking psychological thriller which completely turned the game on the very last page, changing this from a mediocre book to a mindblowing book. I loved reading it, though of course I did have some issues with it. Overall, with a good pacing and strong storyline, I highly recommned this to those who’re interested in this genre. Read my review here.

The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski : This series developed so much in this book. I was disappointed with book one, but this book made me actually want to read ahead and find out how the series ends. Read my review here.

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien : This is the first book in the Lord of the Rings trilogy and it was mindblowing. It’s a classic for a reason, and it was so good. I read so many reviews detailing about how difficult the writing is, and how hard it is to get into the book because of the pace. Well, the writing wasn’t difficult at all. You can easily read it even if you’re not accustomed to/a fan of classics – as for the plot and the pacing, initially it is a bit slow however, it’s extremely interesting too.

The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson : Another adult psychological thriller I read, and I still don’t know my feelings on this. It was definitely interesting, though the characters are all crazy and the ending completely changed the game. Read my review here.

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor : Absolutely stunning novel. I have nothing to say about this except that go ahead. Pick this up! Read my review here.

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas : Okay okay okay. This book. My most anticipated 2017 release. OMHYGAWD the FEELS. I loved this SO much okay please read my review here.

STATS

Total books read : 10

GENRES :

YA : 3

Fantasy – 3

Adult : 3

Contemporary – 1

Psychological thriller – 2

Classics : 2

Fantasy – 1

Non-fiction : 1

Poetry : 1

DIVERSE BOOKS : 2/10

The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

AUTHORS :

Male : 3/10

Female : 7/10

STANDALONES/SERIES :

Standalone : 6/10

Series : 4/10


That was it! I hope you guys liked this post :)

Have you guys read any of these books? What did you read recently?

11 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up 2017 – Books #(21-30)

  1. I completely understand the DNF for Catcher in the Rye. I had to read it for school back in year 11 and I wouldn’t have finished it either if I didn’t have to. Holden is most whiny character ever. I honestly don’t know how this one became a classic.

    Like

  2. I’m looking forwards to reading A Court of Thorns and Roses, and the rest of the series! I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

    1. I hope you enjoy the series :) Thank you so much, that means a lot! As for tips, I really don’t have any (because I don’t consider myself THAT accomplished yet) but I’ll just say have fun and enjoy yourself!

      I did check out your site – it looks wonderful (neat and clean) and I really like it :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

