Reading Plans

Read-O-Rama (Round 7) Readathon and New To You Readathon – TBR

It’s readathon time! I planned on participating in two readathons in May – and both failed miserably – so I have new plans for June! One of my reading goals this year is to participate in readathons – because they’re fun and boost your reading so much – and since May didn’t work out at all, I’m looking forward to June being a better month!

There are two readathons in June – both during the SAME week – and I’m planning on participating in both! My TBR is more or less similar for both readathons – except for one book – so I’m hoping that I can participate in both readathons reading the same books. The readathons I’m talking about are Read-O-Rama (Round 7) and New To You Readathon.

You can visit the Twitter account of Read-O-Rama to know more about (and participate) in this readathon! This is Round 7 and it runs from June 11 (midnight) to June 17 (midnight), 2017.  You can find out more the New To You Readathon in this announcement video and it runs during the same time period.

Read-O-Rama has a number of challenges whereas (thankfully) the New To You Readathon doesn’t have any. The only point of the New To You Readathon is to read books by authors you’ve never read before. The challenges of Read-O-Rama are :

1. Read a book with RAMA in the title and/or author’s name

Bad Romance – Heather Demtrios

29102896

I’ve been seeing this book around a lot lately, and though initially I wasn’t at all interested in it, I’ve suddenly been very willing to give it a go! So this one’s definitely on my TBR. As far as I know, the plot follows a woman who escapes an abusive family only to fall in an abusive relationship – and how she gets out of it. This book also counts toward my TBR for the New To You Readathon.

2. Read a book with water on the cover

The Salt House – Lisa Duffy

32620317

I received this book for review from NetGalley and is set to release on June 13th, so this readathon will be the perfect time to read it! This sounds like a family drama and I absolutely love reading family dramas. This book also counts toward my TBR for the New To You Readathon.

3. Read a short book (150 pages or less)

We Should All Be Feminists – Chimamanda Adiche Ngozie

22738563

I’ve heard this TED talk before – and I absolutely loved it – and I’m super willing to give this one a read! This book also counts toward my TBR for the New To You Readathon.

4. Read a graphic novel

Blankets – Craig Thompson

25179

I’ve heard tons about this graphic novel and it’s been sitting on my TBR since ages – this readathon seems like the perfect time to read this! This book also counts toward my TBR for the New To You Readathon.

5. Read a book you’ve been anticipating

I’ll be clubbing two challenges here – I’ll read Bad Romance by Heather Demtrios.

6. Read an own voice book

Homegoing – Yaa Gyasi

27071490

I recently bought this book for super cheap online – and since it is such a short book (and so popular) I definitely want to give this a try! This book also counts toward my TBR for the New To You Readathon.

7. Read a book released in the summer of any year

I’ll be reading Bad Romance by Heather Demtrios for this challenge – since it’s being released in the summer of THIS year!

8. Read 7 Books

I’m pretty sure that’s impossible (by my standards) so I’m going to give this challenge a pass.


Have you read any of these books? Do you intend to read them? Share below!

5 thoughts on “Read-O-Rama (Round 7) Readathon and New To You Readathon – TBR

  1. I want to read Homegoing as well – heard a lot about it! I loved Blankets and I hope you like it as well. Good luck with your readathons!

    Like

  2. I’m praticipating in Readorama too! I couldn’t put up my TBR, sadly, but I still love reading other people’s! I *need* to read We Should All Be Feminists, but I can’t find it anywhere.

    xoxo, Rawan M from RMAI

    Like

Leave a Reply

