Wrap Ups

Reading Wrap Up 2017 – Books #(31-40)

I’m back with another wrap-up! Going along with my way of doing wrap-ups per ten books instead of monthly ones, this post is all about the last ten books I read/DNFed :)

wr1

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante : I read this in the midst of an awful reading slump, and that completely killed my chances of enjoying the book for its full worth. I did really like the book; I loved the story, the setting and the characters, but reading this book at some other time would’ve probably benefitted me more. Rating : 3/5 stars

Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeline Thein : This book was one of the books which I knew would impact me the moment I picked it up, only to DNF it at about 30% in. My reading slump was eating me alive during this book, the reason why I couldn’t enjoy the story of the two Chinese generations portrayed in this novel. I definitely intend to pick this back again, sooner or later. (Unrated)

Memories by Lang Leav : I was disappointed with Leav’s Love and Misadventure but still decided to give this one a go. I disliked this poetry collection too, mainly because of the repetitive content and all-too-familiar style of writing – though I have to agree, Memories was much better than Love and MisadventureRating : 2/5 stars

It’s Always the Husband by Micheelle Campbell : This book was a disaster. The only thing this book can proudly boast of is an intriguing summary. Choppy, cardboard, poorly-executed characters and a boring storyline, the book itself compelled me to give it up at 50%. Rating : 1/5 stars

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli : I actually read this book long ago but I had forgotten to include it in a previous wrap up, so here it is. I enjoyed this book, though I did have some problems with it, mainly the MC’s constant complaining and whining of her being fat and not having a boyfriend. The diversity was good, but the MC was so annoying. Rating : 3/5 stars. Read my review here!

wr2

The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski : This book was spectacular. It was a perfect finale to The Winner’s trilogy and wrapped up things extremely satisfactorily. Looking back at the first book, I’m amazed at how much Rutkoski has developed and upped her skills. Rating : 4/5 stars

Here We Are, Feminism for the Real World by Kelly Jensen : I picked this up on a whim, and what a surprise! I don’t know why I had ignored this book earlier (during its release) but this one is definitely a nonfiction worth reading. Powerful tales and essays on feminism and some interesting content to go with it, this book is a must! Rating : 4/5 stars

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt : I’m still debating on whether to write a review on this or not. This book is considered a masterpiece by many, and I can see why. The writing, detailing and storytelling is beyond spectacular, the characterization is intricate and superbly done and the overall storyline is interesting as well. The reason I did not enjoy it as much as I was hoping, is because my recent reading slump hit me in the middle of the book. I started the book, read about one-third, then came the slump (and I didn’t read it for about two months) and then picked it back again. That, most definitely, took away from my experience of this book. Rating : 4/5 stars

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie : I read this in a matter of a day – that’s how addictive and thrilling this book is. There’s a reason why Agatha Christie is called The Queen of Crime – it’s because she doesn’t need to write a massive book to intrigue the reader, she can do it in 240 pages and still leave us shocked. This book did exactly that. Rating : 5/5 stars

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie : You’ve probably been living under a rock if you’ve not heard of this book! I had heard the TED Talk for this before, and had been mesmerized by it. I’m currently participating in a couple of readathons and this book counts towards both. I’m extremely glad I read this, and I highly encourage you all to do so. Rating : 5/5 stars


STATS

Total books read : 10

GENRES :

YA : 2

Contemporary – 1

Fantasy – 1

Adult : 5

Historical fiction – 1

Literary fiction – 2

Mystery – 1

Psychological thriller – 1

 

Non-fiction : 2

Poetry : 1

DIVERSE BOOKS : 4/10

The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeline Thein

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante

AUTHORS :

Male : 010

Female : 10/10

STANDALONES/SERIES :

Standalone : 8/10

Series : 2/10


That was it! I hope you guys liked this post :)

Have you guys read any of these books? What did you read recently?

5 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up 2017 – Books #(31-40)

  1. Hello! Very nice and informative post, straight to the point.
    I also read “My Brilliant Friend” few weeks ago, and I enjoyed it quite a lot (you can check my review here: goo.gl/vVo8vv). Indeed, it’s not a book that helps you get out of a reading slump … However, it made me really curious about the other three books of the series :)

    Like

  2. I definitely agree with you on Lang Leav’s Love and Misadventures. I felt that the themes were a bit too repetitive. Memories was definitely a lot better and I plan on rereading it soon (my personal favorite from the collection was ‘Birthdays’).
    Have you read Leav’s new novel, Sad Girls? It’s sooooo different, in terms of writing style, from her poetry. Reading a novel from Leav, one would expect illusory and romantic descriptions but her take on the novel makes a 360 in which description is replaced by heavy and I mean HEAVY dialogue.
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future!
    Happy Reading 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

