Tags

The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag [2017]

I’m trying very hard to get over the fact that June is already over and life is changing so fast (more on that later; I’ll be posting about my college admission and me shifting to a new city in a few days) and with the middle of the year, comes the Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag! I did this tag last year too, and this is one such tag I’m pretty sure I’ll keep doing for the rest of my blogging years! Let’s just get into the questions!

Best Book You’ve Read Yet in 2017

1232

Out of the 47 books that I’ve read so far this year, four of them really stand out : The Shadow of the WindExit West, Homegoing and The Song of Achilles. Narrowing the answer down to one book is tough, but I’m going to go with The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. It had a little bit of everything, and all in all, it was a phenomenal book. Read my review here!

Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far In 2017

20443235

I didn’t read a lot of series/sequels so far this year, but The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski wins hands down. This trilogy started off okayish but the second and third book really made this trilogy an accomplishment. Read my review here!

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet, But Want To

Both these books released on the same day, and it’s been more than a month but I still haven’t picked them up (*sighs). I’m really excited about Into the Water by Paula Hawkins because I really loved her previous book. I’m also super interested to read The Leavers by Lisa Ko.

Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year

cannot wait to get to these two books. I’ve absolutely loved these two authors’ previous works, and that alone is enough for me to want to read these!

Biggest Disappointment

25179

I cannot even tell you how much I expected from this book, and how heavily I was disappointed. It was my first graphic novel ever, and though the art itself was beautiful and the writing really good, the story and the characters sucked. Like, I have no better word for it.

Biggest Surprise

30197201

I’m not the hugest fan of YA contemporary, and I picked this up for my reading challenge of diverse books and I was so pleasantly surprised with it. It was an extremely cute, sensitive and important book, and I loved its realistic portrayal of teenage relationships and high school life.

Favourite New Author (Debut or New To You)

28449207

I haven’t read this author’s previous series (and frankly, I’m not too interested in it) but this book blew me away. The writing was exceptional (along with the story and worldbuilding). So of course, Laini Taylor is my new favorite author! Read my review here!

Newest Fictional Crush

No one really. I don’t have crushes on fictional characters anymore.

Newest Favourite Character

23766634

Cassian from A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas. I think SJM did really well with Cassian’s character in this book, and I really want to read more about him in her future books.

Book That Made You Cry

25613472

I didn’t ‘cry’ but I was extremely moved while reading A List of Cages by Robin Roe. It’s a sad story which highlights the importance of friendship and kindness.

Book That Made You Happy

30653853

I did have problems with this book (hated the MC) but I flew through this book in less thatn three days, devoured the writing and it’s the typical type of ‘cute’ and diverse contemporary which warmed my heart. Read my review here!

Favourite Book to Film Adaptation

mv5bn2vjymu2njytmzgyzi00ymywlwjhnwutntk4zmrmnwnmztljl2ltywdlxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvyndkzntm2odg-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_

I did not watch a lot of adaptations this year, and by far my favorite was the TV show Big Little Lies. It was absolutely excellent, and though I’ve not read the book, I can still say that it was a really good adaptation. Read my review here!

Favourite Post You Have Done This Year

Definitely my review of When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon. I did not enjoy this book, but I made an effort to make the review constructive and gave arguments for everything that I disliked. This was one of the few books I read this year where I took notes and marked all the things I wanted to mention in the review, and I feel it really shows in the review.

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year

30849411

I bought the hardcover of Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi and it looks absolutely stunning! I also read the book and it’s one of the best books I’ve read this year.

What Book Do You Need to Read by the End of the Year

I need to finish The Lord of the Rings trilogy this year (I’ve read the first book so far) and will be reading the next two soon.


That was it for my tag! Have you done the mid-year book freakout tag yet? If not, I tag you! What is your favorite book of 2017 so far? Which books are you most looking forward to for the rest of 2017? Share with me below!

 

2 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag [2017]

  1. You’ve had an awesome read-a-thon so far this year! Into The Water is also a book that I need to read ASAP! It’s sitting on my shelf already, I just haven’t got the chance to pick it up yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

