Discussion

2017 Reading Goals Update

 //In which, I show you my skills at making goals and never completing them.

So in the beginning of 2017, I made myself some reading goals to follow this year; nothing too strict or difficult, just little things I wanted to keep in mind to shape a better reading year ahead. Judging my reading year in 2016, I made these following goals, and now is the time to check how I have done with these goals for the past half-year!

1. The Goodreads Goal

I aimed to read a total of 100 books this year, and by the end of the month of June, I had completed a total of 47 books. That’s 3 books behind schedule, though I’m hoping I can complete the goal by the end of the year.

2. The TBR Takedown

This goal was basically to cut down the number of unread books I own to 10 total booksI’m failing miserably with this. I had around 50 unread books on my shelves at the beginning of the year, and I still have about 50 books on my shelves. That means I’ve been buying as many physical books as I’ve been reading, and that’s terrible.

3. Let’s talk numbers

There are certain genres or categories of books I want to read more from this year, and I had numbered goals for these genres.

Classics – 12

Read : 4 (I’m 2 books behind my goal; should have completed 6 by mid-year)

Literary fiction – 24

Read : 8 (I’m 4 books behind my goal; should have completed 12 by mid-year)

Indian books – 15

Read : 2 (HAHAHA let’s not even talk about this one)

Diverse books – 40% of my total reading

Read : 20/47 (that equals to around 42% of my reading is diverse)

Translated fiction – 5

Read : 3 (I’m right on track with this goal)

Series to Read/Complete – 9

Completed series : 2 (I’m WAYY behind on this one too)

4. The ‘Big Book’ Goal

Every year from this year onwards, I have planned to read one really ‘big’ book – and this year’s goal was to read The Lord of the Rings. I have read the first book, and will be completing the rest of the series this year (hopefully)!

5. Read-a-thons

I wanted to take part in 5 readathons this year. So far, I have participated in :

Emojiathon – February 2017

Read-O-Rama Round 7 – June 2017

New To You Readathon – June 2017

6. Reading Challenges

I am participating in two reading challenges – I’m not strictly sticking to them, but merely as a device to structure my reading.

2017 Diverse Books Reading Challenge

JanuaryStories based on/ inspired by diverse folktales/culture/mythology

Read : Karna’s Wife by Kavita Kane

FebruaryPOC/ Biracial/ Multiracial Main Character/Lead

Read : The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow

MarchDisability

Read : The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon; A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard

April Mental Health 

Read : The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

MayReligious Diversity 

I did not do this challenge.

June and JulySexuality and Gender Identity

Read : The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

AugustNon Western Setting

What books I might read : (Any Indian book would be perfect here too) Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi, The KIte Runner and The Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini (both rereads)

SeptemberOwnvoices

What books I might read : The Colour Purple by Alice Walker, Americanah and Purple Hibiscus by Chimamnda Ngozi Adiche

OctoberIntersectionality

What books I might read : 

NovemberDiverse Retelling

What books I might read : Winter by Marissa Meyer, And I Darken by Kierstern White

December2017 Releases

TBD

2017 Read Harder Challenge (Hosted by Book Riot)

1. Read a book about sports.

2. Read a debut novel.

Read : Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris

3. Read a book about books.

Read : The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

4. Read a book set in Central or South America, written by a Central or South American author.

5. Read a book by an immigrant or with a central immigration narrative.

Read : The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan

6. Read an all-ages comic.

7. Read a book published between 1900 and 1950.

Read : And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

8. Read a travel memoir.

9. Read a book you’ve read before.

10. Read a book that is set within 100 miles of your location.

11. Read a book that is set more than 5000 miles from your location.

Read : The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte

12. Read a fantasy novel.

Read : The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

13. Read a nonfiction book about technology.

14. Read a book about war.

Read : A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

15. Read a YA or middle grade novel by an author who identifies as LGBTQ+.

16. Read a book that has been banned or frequently challenged in your country.

17. Read a classic by an author of color.

18. Read a superhero comic with a female lead.

19. Read a book in which a character of color goes on a spiritual journey

20. Read an LGBTQ+ romance novel

Read : The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

21. Read a book published by a micropress.

22. Read a collection of stories by a woman.

Read : Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

23. Read a collection of poetry in translation on a theme other than love.

24. Read a book wherein all point-of-view characters are people of color.

Read : Karna’s Wife by Kavita Kane /  When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon


So that was it! As you can see, I’m doing pretty bad on most of my goals, but I’m fairly optimistic about completing (or at least, partially completeing) most of these reading goals.

Do you have reading goals for 2017? How are you doing on your goals? Tell me about them!

2 thoughts on “2017 Reading Goals Update

  1. WOW you set yourself so many challenges this year! I’m impressed you’ve stuck with a majority of them so far (except the kind of fail with the Indian fiction 😂 – but you’ve still got 5 months to go!)
    The only goals I set myself are the Goodreads reading challenge of a 100 books (for which I’m on track woo!) And the Diversity Bingo 2017 which I have completely lost track of and should probably check how I’m doing xD
    All the best with completing your challenges! :D

    Like

    1. The Indian fiction one is a BIG fail :D Thank you, I’m not doing too well on the others but at least I’m acknowledging that they exist (unline the Indian fiction one which completely got ignored). Best of luck to you too:))

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

