Wrap Ups

Reading Wrap Up 2017 – Books #(41-50)

Hey guys! I’m back with another wrap-up today – I’ll be talking about and discussing the last ten books that I read! I’m kinda overjoyed that I could put this up so soon after I put up my last wrap-up  but that could be owing to the fact that I participated in two readathons, and also, two of the ten books below are graphic novels (quicker reads). Anyway, without much ado, let us get into the books!

Capture1

The Salt House by Lisa Duffy

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Blankets by Craig Thompson

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

(I have wrapped up these four books in one single post because I read these books for a readathon. You can click here to read my thoughts on these four books!)

The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi : This is a nonfiction graphic novel centered around the author’s life during the Iranian revolution. It was absolutely amazing. I gave it a 5 stars on Goodreads – the novel is informative, interesting with excellent graphics and a very engaging storyline.

Capture2

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia : I was sent this by the publisher for review and this book is about a teenager dealing with schizophrenia and her experience at her new high school. It was an interesting take on a book about mental illness, but the book fell short on quite a few other aspects. Read my review here!

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller : This was excellent. Look no further if you’re looking for a diverse, bittersweet love story : but this is it. Also, if you’re a fan of retellings of Greek heroes, definitely pick this one up!

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab : This is the sequel to This Savage Song. I didn’t love th previous book, I liked it and I wasn’t really highly anticipating this book. But I did finally pick this up and I felt it was pretty meh. Schwab’s writing, is absolutely stunning though.

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay : Unpopular opinion time. This book was disappointing on so many levels. I gave this a 3 star on Goodreads because of the author’s ideas and often convincing writing but it deserves more of a 2.5 stars. This is mostly because the book deals with way more topics than feminism, which I wasn’t expecting or wanting to read. I picked this up hoping to read some strong essays on feminism but instead, I had to read the author write unnecessary critiques on so many books/tv shows/actors/movies etc which I wasn’t interested inRead my Goodreads review here.

Mansfield Park by Jane Austen : With this book, I have finally completed reading all of Austen’s novels. This one is definitely not a favorite, but it was still a lot of fun and typically what you expect when you pick up an Austen novel.


STATS

Total books read : 10

Fiction – 8

Non fiction – 2

Genres

YA – 3

2 Contemporary

1 Fantasy

Adult – 7

1 Classic

2 Graphic novels

1 mythological retelling

1 collection of essays

1 literary fiction

1 contemporary

Authors

Male – 1

Female – 9

Series/Standalone

Standalone – 9

Series – 1


That was it for my wrap-up! I did read some disappointing books but I’ve glad that I read diversely. I read from different genres and different formats, and also tried out graphic novels for the first time!

Have you guys read any of these books? What books did you read recently? What are you currently reading?

5 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up 2017 – Books #(41-50)

  1. I love Mansfield Park, though it isn’t my favorite Austen (that’s Persuasion!). It’s interesting to read your thoughts on Bad Feminist (I’m heading over to Goodreads to read more now). I haven’t read it, but it’s been on my TBR list for a long time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

