Tags

OMG This Song Book Tag

This tag is SOOOOO good. The first time I watched it on BookTube, I was like heck yeahI wanna do this. Books and music are both two of my absolute favorite things in the world, so when these two got together in a tag, of course I had to do it. This tag is essentially about a number of questions, and you answer them with a book AND a song. Also, as my own little plot twist to the tag, I will also be mentioning Bollywood songs along with English songs too.

(I’m an Indian, btw, and I love Bollywood songs to death so I figured I might as well promote them a bit on here :P )

This is the creator’s video of the tag.

1. MY JAM – a song you MUST listen to every time it comes on, no matter how old or how many times you’ve listened to it / a book you’ll never get sick of

 

595236channa-mereya-147514740177203

Ed Sheeran’s Photograph is my favorite Ed Sheeran song. Every time it comes on, no matter what mood I’m in, I turn the volume up because it is that good. At the same time, Channa Mereya from the movie Ae Dil Hai Mushkil is my current favorite song, even though it’s been months since the movie released (and the mvoie was a disaster) – I still cannot get the song out of my head.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini is one of my top favorite books of all time and I know for a fact that even when I’m an old lady, I’ll love this book dearly. It’s a precious book with beautiful lessons and a must read for everyone.
2. THROWBACK – a song that reminds you of the cringest time of your life / a book that also reminds you of this time (or just something you wouldn’t like as much if you picked it up for the first time now)

220px-eeniemeeniecovermaxresdefault

15283043

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used to obsessively listen to Justin Bieber’s Eenie Meenie when I was 11 (in 6th grade). I clearly remember because we had to move to the adjacent flat to ours because our flat was under renovation, and I’d sit holed up in my room with this song turned up. The song Ainvayi Ainvayi from the movie Band Baaja Baraat is another song I cringe when I think of, yet I used to love so much when it first came out.

As for the book, The Distance Between Us by Kasie West reminds me of a that time of my life – when I used to love fluffy, cute, senseless YA contemporary. I still hold this book dear, but I would DNF it if I picked it up now.

3. REPLAY – a recent song you have on repeat right now / a recent favorite book

david-guetta-justin-bieber-2uullu-ka-patha

27071490

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Justin Bieber and david Guetta’s 2U has been on my mind lately, as well as the song Ullu Da Pattha from the upcoming movie Jagga Jasoos. As for a recent favorite book, it definitely has to be Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi.

4. GETS ME – this song IS ME / this book is me in book form

16068905

I absolutely cannot think of a song that is me, so we’re going to go with just the book Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I say this book is me, because I identify with the MC on so many levels, and yeah, it’s cute and fluffy but also life-changing.

5. WUT – weird but I like it? – a unique book that stuck out to you for whatever reason

maxresdefault1

the_vegetarian_-_han_kang

Patakka Guddi from the movie Highway is a weird song – it isn’t your typical Bollywood movie song – but I loved it from the moment I first heard it. It’s just absolutely delightful, catchy and the video is brilliant. Also, the movie is one of the best Bollywood movies out there.

As for a weird book which I absolutely loved, I choose The Vegetarian by Han Kang. It was a weird book, but it was gripping, powerful and very intriguing.

6. LET’S GO – best pump up song (for workouts or just life) – a book that inspired you

4649422114_2318182534_b

maxresdefault2

2015888

The song Wavin’ Flag is absolutely amazing – it is so so inspiring and whenever it comes on, I wanna rise and do big things and make people proud. I cant’ explain why :P Also, the song Salaam India from the movie Mary Kom is extremely inspirational, along with a breathtaking video.

As for the book, Making A Mango Whistle by Bibhutibhushan Chattopdhyay is definitely an inpsiring, life-changing novel. It is about a family life in a village in India, and is an extremely popular book (and movie) here.

7. CHILL – fav chill, relaxing song / a book you’d curl up with and read on a rainy day

maxresdefault3

screen-shot-2016-08-27-at-7-00-02-pm

16143347

Ed Sheeran’s Perfect and M.S. Dhoni’s Kyun Aata Hai are both pleasant, soothing and relaxing songs. They’re paradise to the ears. Also, We Were Liars by E Lockhart is the perfect book (according to me) to curl up with on a rainy day. It’s a short, crazy thriller and just fits the mood of a rainy day.

8. ADDICTING – guilty pleasure song – one that’s catchy and addicting but not a whole lot of substance / guilty pleasure/trashy/fast/light read

main-tera-boyfriend-lyrics-raabta-arijit-singh

18660669

The song Main Tera Boyfriend from Raabta isn’t the best song out there – but the catchy tunes and nonsensical lyrics has me hooked. Definitely a guilty pleasure :D

Same goes for Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. It’s far from the best works of literature, but I gobbled up the series. It was delightful and cringy but still so much fun.

9. NOSTALGIA – throwback you look back on fondly / a book you read forever ago that you look back on fondly or reminds you of a happy childhood time

51cnfd2br8cl-_sx300_bo1204203200_

The songs Rubaroo (from the classic movie Rang De Basanti) and Love Story by Taylor Swift are both childhood favorites, and I look back on them with such fondness. I still love both songs with all my heart.

The book series Famous Five by Enid Blyton was the first full length novels I read. I attach such fond memories with these books, and will forever cherish them with all my heart.


So that was it for my post! I loved doing this tag, and I tag anyone who’s reading to do it! I personally love both books and movies – so this was absolutely the perfect tag for me to do :)

Hope you enjoyed this post!

2 thoughts on “OMG This Song Book Tag

Leave a Reply

