Book Reviews

Standard Deviation – Katherine Heiny (Book Review)

26198476

Title : Standard Deviation

Author : Katherine Heiny

Genre : Adult Contemporary

Standalone


Summary

Goodreads summary :

A rueful, funny examination of love, marriage, infidelity, and origami. Simultaneously hilarious and heartbreaking, this sensational debut will appeal to fans of David Nicholls, Nick Hornby, Nora Ephron and Lorrie Moore

Graham Cavanaugh’s second wife, Audra, is everything his first wife was not. She considers herself privileged to live in the age of the hair towel, talks non-stop through her epidural, labour and delivery, invites the doorman to move in and the eccentric members of their son’s Origami Club to Thanksgiving. She is charming and spontaneous and fun but life with her can be exhausting.

In the midst of the day-to-day difficulties and delights of marriage and raising a child with Asperger’s, his first wife, Elspeth, reenters Graham’s life. Former spouses are hard to categorize – are they friends, enemies, old flames, or just people who know you really, really well? Graham starts to wonder: How can anyone love two such different women? Did he make the right choice? Is there a right choice?


My Review (No Spoilers)

devoured this book. It was so readable, so addictive and an absolute delight to read.

To describe the plotline of the book…I would have to stop and ponder, and yet I wouldn’t be able to come up with a well-rounded summary that can sum up the book. Mainly, because, this book doesn’t have a plot. It doesn’t have a story, or at least a clear storyline. Then why, would you think, did I devour this book?

Because, friends, if you ever have to read a book with no plot, pick this one up. It lacks a plot, and yet is better than quite a few books out there with a proper plot. I’m not that interested in books which have no clear story, but if the said books is anything like Standard Deviation, I WANT IT!

The book is essentially about a couple – Graham and Audra and their son Matthew – and is a commentary on love, marriage, fidelity and origami. It’s a commentary on whether you can love two completely opposite persons, and is a heartfelt, sincere family drama at its heart.

The book flies by in no time. The dialogue is fresh and extremely readable and addictive – you will want to keep reading on and on. You just cannot stop with this book because even though the story is leading nowhere, reading it is so much fun. The characters are vibrant, humane and simple, well-crafted beings. It’s fun reading about them; they may not be the most complex characters ever written, but they still manage to be real.

All in all, I recommend this to anyone who want to enjoy a good book. It’s a fun, readable book and perfect to pick up if you want to have a good reading time!


My Rating

4/5 stars

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s