Book Reviews

Bad Romance – Heather Demetrios (Book Review)

29102896

Title : Bad Romance

Author : Heather Demetrios

Standalone

Genre : YA Contemporary


Summary

Goodreads summary :

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it’s too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she’s unable to escape. 

Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again.


Non-Spoilery Thoughts

Yes. Yes. Yes. Give me a YA contemporary like this. Give me a YA contemporary that’s painful to read, but difficult to let go off. Give me a YA contemporary that’s real and raw and gripping. In short, give me something like Bad Romance.

I’m not gonna lie to you, I picked up this book under the impression that it’s adult contemporary. I was very intrigued by the premise, but the only reason I picked this up as soon as I got my hands on it was because I was pretty sure it was adult contemporary. [Hello, hi, I’m Anushka and yes I don’t like YA contemporary at all :))))].

A few pages into the book, I realized that the characters are in high school; so I checked the Goodreads page and voila! It’s a YA contemporary. So there I sat, mildly disappointed because I was wrong, but still willing to read the book because what harm is there in that? And then, without even realizing, I finished this book in two days. And I’m not the fastest reader out there, so two days is pretty good for me.

This starts off as a typical high school drama, but what unfolds is a horrific, eye-opening and heartwrenching story. The story follows Grace, who lives in an abusive household and how she meets her knight in shining armor – Gavin. However, the loving and perfect relationships she thought she had soon transforms into something horrific, unhealthy and toxic.

The story is simple and clear – and quite honestly, even the ending is written pretty clearly on the Goodreads summary – but what is marvellous about the book is how the author portrays the story. Right from the beginning, we know how things are going to turn out, and what the end result will be. Yet, the writing is clear, captivating and in spite of knowing the story, you will still keep reading to know more and more.

The author very bravely portrays the whole process of how easy it is to get into an abusive relationship, and how exremely hard it is to leave that person. The book is really eye-opening and heartwrenching in the same way.

I disliked the two characters initially. The only reason Grace liked Gavin and wanted to be with him initially was because he was hot and attractive and whatever (I got so tired of all her descriptions of him). But at the same time, I could understand how that could happen. Maybe I was initially irritated because I’ve never in my life had a guy in my school who’s just so hot and so perfect that everyone is crazy about him. But I can see how easy it is to fall for someone charming, especially at a young age, and how easy smooth-talking and a few perfect words can seal the deal. And then, when the relationship takes a bad turn, I could also see how suffocating and toxic the relationship portrayed in the book is.

And that is what I loved about this book. How it portrayed everything so well. The fluff and the excitement of first love, and the despair of a toxic relationship. The characters were surprisingly well-structured and developed, and very much believable in their roles.

The only thing I wanted a bit more was sensitive, emotional writing. The story was touching and heartbreaking, but the writing not so much. It wasn’t written with the emotional touch I expected it to be, but nevertheless, the writing is dramatic and a second-person narrative, which actually worked out really well. A little more emotion would’ve made this a perfect 5 star book for me.

That was it for my reveiw! I highly recommend this book. If you love YA contemporaries, then what are you waiting for? If you don’t read this genre, I still suggest you pick this one up!


My Rating

4.5/5 stars

3 thoughts on “Bad Romance – Heather Demetrios (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

