Wrap Ups

BookTube-A-Thon 2017 Wrap Up [Where I Failed Miserably]

I failed so miserably in this.

Hello everyone! I hope you’re all doing well, reading wonderful books and having a lot of fun. My college started last week, and I’m simply adjusting to the new city and this new life. Everything is overwhelming, and to be honest, scary, but I’m constantly hoping things will get a lot and lot better.

As for reading, things have not been too good. I was so damn excited for BookTubeAThon, but it was just a big disaster for me. I DNFed 3 books (almost completed one of them but finally gave it up), am in the middle of 1 book, and completed only 2 books this past week. I still managed to complete a few of the 7 challenges, but overall I’m super disappointed with my reading this week.

I was just in the biggest of reading slumps, and quite honestly, feeling very homesick and lonely the first few days of me shifting to the new college. Anyway, I’m going to begin with the books I DNFed first, to get them out of the way, then talk about the other books I read!

I DNFed The Kiss of Deception at around 50%, mainly because of the aimless plot and the over-obsession of the MC with the two male leads and the annoying romance. I know this is a hot favorite among all YA fantasy readers, but I just could not take the romance and the flirtation and whatnot. As for The Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregory, that is definitely a book I’ll try again in the future. It’s the kind of book I love to read; I was just in a horrible reading slump and this book is pretty heavy to read.

31204902

I almost finished this book (then gave it up in the end) so I’m still counting this towards the challenge to read a book you bought because of the cover. This was a family saga, and family sagas are my favorite kind of books to read, but my reading slump was way too bad to fully enjoy this. Definitely something I’m going to pick up again :)

26365537

I finished Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell in about an hour, and this completed the challenge of finish a book in one day. This was an averagely written, somewhat interesting story which will thrill Star Wars fans. I mildly enjoyed it, and it definitely isn’t something which will stick with me.

28818921

Having read this, I can say that Roxane Gay isn’t really for me. Whereas I disliked her novel Bad FeministDifficult Women was better and a lot more readable. However, that doesn’t mean I thoroughly enjoyed it. I had a hard time understanding the point of some of the stories, and for the life of me I could not figure out why each story revolved around sex. Anyway, this completes the challenge read about a character that is very different from you.

28220826

I’m currently in the middle of When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore (almost finished with it) and I have mixed feelings about it. I’m not a fan of the plot (or the lack of it) but I’m loving the writing and the characters. This completes two challenges : read a book with a person on the cover and read a hyped book. 


So that was it! My (miserable) wrap-up of the BookTubeAThon.

Did you participate in the BookTubeAThon? What did you read? Do you participate every year? Have you read any of the books I mentioned?

6 thoughts on “BookTube-A-Thon 2017 Wrap Up [Where I Failed Miserably]

  1. I cannot get through Difficult Women. It was too confusing. So confusing that I started to laugh at what was going on until I finally dropped it. First book I dropped this year.

    Like

  2. I’ve heard so much about A Kiss of Deception so I’m sorry you didn’t like it! Hate when hyped books are bad.
    Adjusting to the new city without your family may be hard at first but I’m sure that you’ll be settled in a few days :) How are you liking college so far?

    Like

Leave a Reply

