Book Reviews

Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) – Leigh Bardugo (Book Review)

23437156

Title : Six of Crows

Series : Six of Crows #1

Author : Leigh Bardugo

Genre : YA Fantasy

Summary

Goodreads summary :

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

General Thoughts

This book blew me away. Because of studies and school, I couldn’t read this book as quickly as I wanted to, and had to trudge through this every night before going to sleep, but thankfully that did not take away the amazing experience of reading this wonderful piece of YA fantasy. It was absolutely stellar fantasy, and up there with the likes of the best YA fantasy that I’ve read.The book itself, along with the reading experience was amazing, and I’m so, so glad that I finally decided to pick this up.

Pros

1. The unique worldI always love a fantasy book which is set in a new, different world, and when the author does a good job of explaining the world. I haven’t read her previous Grisha trilogy, but I was still awestruck by the world that she has created and described so well. This world was equally interesting as it was new and different, and the author manages to explain everything without becoming too info-dumpy (which is always a plus point). Like I said, because I haven’t read the Grisha trilogy, I was not familiar with this world, but surprisingly, I still didn’t find it difficult to understand and immerse myself in this! And, that just goes a long way to show the author’s skill, the way she has made understanding the world in Six of Crows really effortless.

2. The charactersReading this book is actually probably a sign that I’m moving out of the ‘let’s-keep-as-many-fictional-boyfriends-as-possible’ phase and instead I can read and love and appreciate characters without falling head-over-heels in love with them. I can totally imagine a fourteen-year old me reading this book and being captivated by Kaz but now, thankfully, I can go beyond that. Of course, I do love Kaz (MC) but not as a cheesy love-hero, but more as an excellent example for the author’s skills in crafting a character. Not just Kaz, but each of the six : Inej, Nina, Matthias, Wylan and Jesper. Everyone is remarkably characterized, and the good and bad in each is realistic and fascinating to read about.

tumblr_nr4ikxbdt11rs0b4vo7_1280

3. The plotlineI don’t know about you, but I haven’t even heard of a lot of books about a heist. I mean, how  cool is that? The plotline is extremely interesting, engaging and makes you want to keep going on and on. The heist, the planning, the execution, the outcome – everything was so exciting and exhilerating.

4. The backstoriesI love books which keep telling back-stories/histories about their characters, it just adds so many layers to the story and the characters, and intensifies the reading experience. I loved reading about all of the characters’ past, their stories, their stuggles, and how they became who they are now, and I think Bardugo did a fantastic job of adding details and complexities which further makes the book rich. Absolutely fantastic.

5. Less/no emphasis on romanceReading YA fantasy without romance is like a breath of fresh air. It hardly happens, and when it does, it’s a relief. This book, though it did not overlook the romantic aspect of the character, did not bore the readers with stupid cheesy dialogues and make-out scenes (thankfully). Love interests were hinted at, and feelings of characters towards certain others were revealed to be romantic, but at least there was no overt romantic behaviour and no kissing and no ‘I-love-you’ and yes Bardugo YOU HAVE MADE ME HAPPY.

Cons

Nope nope. Nothing at all. I cannot find a single one. It was as close to a perfect book as a YA fantasy can be, and I’m unable to find a single thing which wasn’t upto the mark.

A ‘good book’ or a ‘good read’?

An amazing book. An exciting read.

Recommend to?

All fantasy lovers.

My Rating

4.75/5 stars

5 thoughts on “Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) – Leigh Bardugo (Book Review)

  1. I loved Six of Crows so much! was such a great book! I did not know what to do with myself after I was done with it. At The end of this month book 2 comes out! I can’t wait to read it.
    It makes me so sad that there only will be 2 books :(

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment