Reading Plans · Wrap Ups

Series I Finished, Want-to-finish and DNF’d – 2017

So last year, I made a post about series I had read, DNF’d and wanted to finish (2016 edition), and I’m doing the same for this year. I think I’ll make this an yearly habit/post – it’ll just help keeping track of all the series I pick up in an year.

[Please read : I’m not including any series which are coming out in 2018. I will talk about new releases only in the posts dedicated to new releases of 2018]

Series I Finished in 2017

winners-trilogythe-lord-of-the-rings-books-like-harry-potterclaudia-gray5bc78f494bcf1a0e43f0c23c637932ec

I read The Winner’s trilogy by Marie Lu and The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkein this year, and I loved both the series. I’m glad I picked up both the series! As for the Firebird trilogy  by Claudia Gray and The Lunar Chroncles by Marissa Meyer, I only had the last book left of both the series. So I read A Million Worlds With You (last book of Firebird) and Winter (the last book of Lunar Chronicles) this year, and finally, completed both the series.

Series I Started in 2017 and Want To Keep Reading

I read quite a few first-books-in-a-series this year, but these three are the only ones I want to continue with. Warcross by Marie Lu is this awesome sci-fi YA book about gaming and virtual reality; Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor is a magical story about a mysterious, hidden city and The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss is the epic story about the main character’s journey in a magical school.

Series I Started in 2017 But Am DNFing

I DNF’d Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth, The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson and Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvarts. They were horrible books, according to me. All of them are YA fantasy and I couldn’t even complete the first books, let alone continue the series. The Shadow of the Wind, on the other hand, was absolutely fantastic. It’s one of the best books I’ve read this year, and I highly highly highly recommend it. However, I’ve heard mixed things about tis sequels, and I’m pretty happy with how it ended. Thus, I won’t be reading its subsequent novels.

Series I Want to Start in 2018

I’m going to be realistic for this year, and only name series that I am genuinely keen on reading. Last year when I made a similar list, I named so many series and I lost interest in a few of them by the time half of the year was over. So this time, I’m only mentioning five series – five series I’m genuinely, really excited to read. Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan is something so many people have been talking about lately! I think the amount of diversity in the book would be really good. Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson and The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch are the adult fantasy books I want to get my hands on. As for YA fantasy, I would like to give The Queen of the Tearling by Erica Johansen and A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab a try!


So that was it! My series survey for the year. I kind of like updating and tracking series on my blog – just gives me an idea about the reading I’ve done all year. I’m glad about how things have turned out when it comes to series, last year, and super optimistic about my reading for next year!

What about you guys? Do you like reading series? Have you finished any series in 2017? What series are you looking forward to read next year? Have you read any of the series I mentioned? Share below!

16 thoughts on “Series I Finished, Want-to-finish and DNF’d – 2017

  1. Series are my biggest downfall! I always tend to start them and then not read the sequels, for some weird reason? It’s not like I don’t want to, I just.. keep picking up other books?

    I have yet to finish the Daughter of Smoke & Bone-trilogy, Miss Peregrine’s books and the Mara Dyer-books, haha. Hopefully I’ll do that in 2018. Fingers crossed!
    A Darker Shade of Magic is on my TBR as well! :D

    Like

    1. That happens with me too! I make a conscious efforts and keep regular tracks…otherwise I would have never completed a lot of series I started :D I hope you finish all those series, and love them :)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am on it! haha yesterday I fell asleep haha but that happens when you read laying down on bed haha
        Thank you for answering Anushka! I am totally keeping an eye on your blog! I hope you could check out mine! and I hope you like it! :3

        Like

  2. I finally read a Darker Shade of Magic this year and boom, I need to buy to the other two pronto!! I also have the Young Elites Trilogy by Marie Lu on my TBR having picked them all up recently! I tend to prefer standalones personally but don’t mind a good series. X

    Like

  3. I love reading series, but I have the tendency to read the first book and forget about the second and third book. Yep, life! So, another goal for me in 2018 is going to finish series that I started years ago. :)

    Like

Leave a comment